Read The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge by Vernor Vinge Free Online

Ebook The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge by Vernor Vinge read! Book Title: The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge
The author of the book: Vernor Vinge
Date of issue: August 17th 2002
ISBN: 0312875843
ISBN 13: 9780312875848
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 35.63 MB
Edition: Orb Books

Read full description of the books The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge:

Since his first published story, "Apartness," appeared in 1965, Vernor Vinge has forged a unique and awe-inspiring career in science fiction as his work has grown and matured. He is now one of the most celebrated science fiction writers in the field , having won the field's top award, the Hugo, for each of his last two novels.

Now, for the first time, this illustrious author gathers all his short fiction into a single volume. This collection is truly the definitive Vinge, capturing his visionary ideas at their very best. It also contains a never-before-published novella, one that represents precisely what this collection encapsulates--bold, unique, challenging science fictional ideas brought to vivid life with compelling storytelling.

Including such major pieces as "The Ungoverned" and "The Blabber," this sumptuous volume will satisfy any reader who loves the sense of wonder, and the excitement of great SF.

The volume collects Vinge's short fiction through 2001 (except "True Names", including Vinge's comments from the earlier two volumes.)

"Bookworm, Run!"
"The Accomplice"
"The Peddler's Apprentice" (with Joan D. Vinge)
"The Ungoverned"
"Long Shot"
"Conquest by Default"
"The Whirligig of Time"
"Bomb Scare"
"The Science Fair"
"Just Peace" (with William Rupp)
"Original Sin"
"The Blabber"
"Win A Nobel Prize!" (originally published in Nature, Vol 407 No 6805 "Futures")
"The Barbarian Princess" (this is also the first section of "Tatja Grimm's World")
"Fast Times at Fairmont High" (occurs in the same milieu as Rainbows End) (winner 2002 Hugo Award for Best Novella)

Read Ebooks by Vernor Vinge

Read information about the author

Ebook The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge read Online! Vernor Steffen Vinge is a retired San Diego State University Professor of Mathematics, computer scientist, and science fiction author. He is best known for his Hugo Award-winning novels A Fire Upon The Deep (1992), A Deepness in the Sky (1999) and Rainbows End (2006), his Hugo Award-winning novellas Fast Times at Fairmont High (2002) and The Cookie Monster (2004), as well as for his 1993 essay "The Coming Technological Singularity", in which he argues that exponential growth in technology will reach a point beyond which we cannot even speculate about the consequences.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge

Read EBOOK The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge by Vernor Vinge Online free

Download PDF: the-collected-stories-of-vernor-vinge.pdf The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge PDF